FLASH: a mob dance craze, a super hero, and a type of documentary

Image

THE TECHNIQUES AND TOOLS OF A SUCCESSFUL FLASH DOCUMENTARY 

When the word flash is mentioned in a conversation, it can be perceived in many forms. Flash can be used as an adjective to describe a speedy situation. Flash can also describe a type of dance mob that has swept the nation. As pictured above, Furman put on his very own flash mob in the middle of Falls Park. But, our readings this week by Anders Fagerjord called, “Multimodal Polyphony” , focused on flash documentaries. 

I have never heard of this term before we did the reading but I have learned about how simple tools can change still pictures and voice overs into a masterpiece. The chapter highlights the flash documentary by National Geographic called, “The Way West” from their Sights and Sounds collection. I decided that I was going to check out the documentary and see what types of media manipulations they used. 

One concept of the chapter that was informative was the different types of relationships between a picture and words that are used to describe it. The three defining characteristics are illustration, relay, and anchorage. Fagerjord said on page 16 that, ” illustration, from a text to an image that assists the text , then back again to the text. Anchorage moves opposite: from an image to its caption, then back again to the image. Relay would then be the middle position between the two.. images and words are taken in together.” 

As I watched parts of the flash documentary, I tried to pay attention to these types of devices. But, I decided that for further practice, I wanted to find my own examples of the three. 

Illustration: 

Image

 

Relay: 

Image

 

Anchorage:

Image

