Before and Afters: How Photoshop Can Enhance Your Photos

These are 5 photos before and after I edited them using Photoshop. I found the process to be tedious but worthwhile! It’s amazing what a difference that these edits made to my pictures. I recommend this product to any aspiring photographer or a plain-jane camera woman like me 🙂

1. My first photo is of Joshua, a boy who was feeding the ducks at Furman Lake.

BEFORE

 

AFTER
I decreased the contrast to make the picture lighter with all the shadows.Then I adjusted the darkness to make the shadows more defined. After that, I used the Kens effect to blur the depth of the field and then focused in just on Joshua and used the gradient tool to make only the animals and the boy the main focal point.
Image
2. My picture of the ducks by the Belltower was crooked because I was laying on the edge of a brickwall trying to not fall into the ecoli-infested lake. So, this obviously needed to be corrected with Photoshop.
BEFORE 
AFTER
I used the straighten tool to tilt the photo to the left to make it straight but then there was white space as the background. So, I then used the crop tool to create a square image with no background.
Image
3. This picture was taking on a balcony at one of the apartments in North Village, the only furman student on campus who is allowed to have a pet , other than a fish. The lighting was bad and I wanted to make sure I kept the focus on the photo on the adorable dog, Lilly.
BEFORE
AFTER
I cropped the photo to make Lilly the main object of the viewer’s sight. I applied the cross effect to the image which darkened the hues and then put the vignette effect to darken the sides. I decided to use the quick selection tool over the magic wand to select just Lilly’s body to then change just her hue and brightness to pop. Then, I used the magic wand for Reb, the owner, to select his had and face to make his contrast less noticeable and more of a background player.
Image
4. This is a picture of a butterfly on one of the plants in the Duke Energy Village plants flowers specifically used to attract animals , like butterflys to roam the area. This was where I got to put into practice the Rule of Thirds.
BEFORE 
AFTER
I used the “Rule of Thirds” cropping setting that Photoshop has that shows you a grid on your photo so you can make sure you line up right in the view finder…
Image
with the final product…
Image
5.  My final shot is of a compost waste in a trash can with a fly landing for a snack. This picture needed to be fixed so you can tell what you were looking at and it needed to be eye-catching.
BEFORE
AFTER
I enhanced the colors and brought up the saturation to make the waste become more lively. Then I put the sharpness to as high as possible so you would be able see the up close picture with more clarity.
Image
Hopefully you are able to see some of the neat tricks that you can do with Photoshop and how you can manipulate and improve your photos! 🙂
