Can Anybody Hear You?

DISCUSSING THE WORLD OF BLOGGING AND INTERCONNECTEDNESS 

Imagine yourself on top of a grassy hill with miles of farmland around you. All you have in your hand is a white megaphone. You press the button and put the speaker to your lips and speak. Your words reverberate off into the distance around you. You heard the speech you just gave. But the real question is : was anyone else listening? In one of our articles,” Blogs, Communities, and Networks”, Ondrejka said, ” Blogging… is like standing on a hill yelling into a megaphone.” The communities of the Web have expanded far beyond the days of printing press and with that expansion comes some benefits and consequences. 

 

After reading through the two articles, I sided with Plato’s argument in “Bards To Blogs”. Plato believes that,” dialogue with worthy listeners and the careful tending of communication is the best way to spread your ideas.” I would be the first one to admit that I enjoy a great conversation over almost anything else in the world. I would choose a phone call over text , but really face-to face communication is superb. I had never thought about the fact that the development of text in books was the first separation between private and public. It became more of a communal act instead of a personal one. Now, the world of blogs has taken public to a whole new level. As the Retterberg said,” Savvy bloggers are aware that their audience may be greater than they imagine, and they know they cannot control who is reading. That presumably changes the way we write.” 

The blog culture is creating connectedness all across the world. Granovetter said, ” weak ties between individuals are more important than strong ties for the broad dissemination of information… Weak ties are also important because they work as bridges between social groups.” When I first read this, I was not in agreement. It took some more evidence by the author to convince me. I began to understand that when we look outside of our normal sphere , we see the world from a new perspective. Even some of the sites like Facebook or LinkedIn can be a form of a blog. They present our life in chronological order which can basically make an autobiography with little effort. This is how some applications are trying to evolve, like Path or Instagram’s Photo Map. In my opinion, I always get a little paranoid of the idea that my life is being recorded, even if it is for my own nostalgia. Maybe, I have just watched Eagle Eye too many times. Blogging itself presents the challenge of writing for the masses without knowing who is listening. The question is : Does that make a difference if anyone is listening? Would our world be different if we couldn’t express our own ideals freely? Is it considered connectedness if it through a digital screen? All questions that won’t be answered while I am still up on the hill with my megaphone in hand. 

