Climbing the Inverted Pyramid: Learning about Hyperlinks and Verification Techniques

I have never been to Egypt. I haven’t climbed up the steep steps of an ancient pyramid. But, I can say with upmost certainty that it would be impossible to climb up an Inverted Pyramid. Obviously, that idea is preposterous, but the concept of Inverted Pyramid writing has been highlighted several times in our readings in “Writing for Digital Media” by Brian Carroll. As the picture below shows, we have been studying about how users skim, surf, scroll and scan web content. A writer has to be aware of these tendencies make sure to get the information out in the most accessible format. 

 Image

I am beginning to grasp this concept of putting important ideas in the forefront of the reader’s view. Carroll said, “Dull and well read beats clever but lost every time.” My problem is that I try to be too “cute” with my blog posts. For example, my attempts at witty blog post titles is simply a way I am trying to catch the readers attention. From our reading, I learned that headlines and stories should “inform rather than entertain.” It’s interesting to me that news organizations have begun linking to competitors to make themselves aggregators. The fact that sending people away makes them come back for more is a fascinating concept. I decided to test this out for myself . So, I went on CNN’s website and looked up about the Democratic National Convention. On the bottom of the page were featured links for other news organizations showed here. 

Image

 

This goes to show that readers are wanting credible sources who give them all the information they want. On the same token, they don’t want their information to be semi-truthful. In the article, “Journalism of Verification” by Kovach, the author is extremely adamant about transparency. He says, “If journalists are truth-seekers, it must follow that they be honest and truthful with their audiences, too – that they be truth presenters.” I am not much of a science person, but the idea of a journalistic scientific method is helpful. I liked the mantra of “If your mother says she loves you, check it out.” Making a conscience effort to have credible sources is a idea that is pushed to the background in the media world.  Kovach’s point is that a journalist shows originality by not copying other’s facts, but getting as close to the primary sources as possible. My question is there a difference in writing style for writing a blog like this or writing for a newspaper? But, I think that the climb to the inverted pyramid is blocked with obstacles of moralism vs. entertainment. 

